Nishnawbe Aski Nation 41st Keewaywin Conference

Victoria Inn Hotel and Convention Centre, Thunder Bay, ON

August 15, 16, and 17, 2023



41st Keewaywin Conference

August 15-17, 2023

Day 1: August 15, 2023 9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST

8:00 am	Registration Open for Chiefs & Delegates	
9:00 am	Grand Entry Opening Prayer Welcoming Remarks – Fort William First Nation	NAN Elder
9:15 am	Call to Order Review and Acceptance of Co-Chairs Review and Acceptance of Rules and Procedures Review and Acceptance of Draft Agenda	A/Grand Chief Achneepineskum Adam Fiddler, Connie Gray McKay and Kyra Metatawabin
9:30 am	Opening Address A/Grand Chief	A/Grand Chief Achneepineskum
10:00	Audited Financial Statements for Nishnawbe Aski Nation *Resolution Required	Christopher Logan, BDO
10:30	Break	10:30
10:45	DGC Achneepineskum Annual Report – In Camera - Governance Committee Update	A/Grand Chief Achneepineskum
11:15	DGC Linklater Annual Report - Sustainable Initiatives - Infrastructure and Housing - First Nation Drinking Water Legislation	DGC Linklater Jennifer Constant, Policy Advisor, Sustainable Initiatives Mike Mckay, Director of Infrastructure and Housing
12:00 pm	Lunch Break	
1:00 pm	DGC Narcisse Annual Report - Social Services - Education - Youth	DGC Narcisse
1:45 pm	Health Transformation	DGC Linklater Chief Doug Kelly, BC Health
2:45 pm	Treaty 9 Co-Jurisdiction Case Presentation and Discussion	Chief Sylvia Koostachin Woodward & Company

3:15 pm	Metis Assertion Legislation	A/Grand Chief Achneepineskum Jason Batise
3:45 pm	65 Welfare Agreement *Resolution Required	DGC Narcisse
5:15 pm	Closing Prayer	



Day 2: August 16, 2023 9:00 am - 4:00 pm EST

8:00 am	Registration for Chiefs & Delegates	
9:00 am	Drum Opening Prayer	
9:15 am	Call to Order by Chairpersons Summary of Day 1	Co-Chair
9:30 am	Grand Chief Acclamation Ceremony *Resolution Required	Audrey Gilbeau, Head Electoral Officer Elders Teri Fiddler, Helen Cromarty & Lucie Longpeter
10:15am	Grand Chief Address	Grand Chief Alvin Fiddler
11:15 am	Elders Council Presentation	NAN Elders
11:30 am	Women's Council Presentation	NAN Women's Council Loretta Sheshequin, Director of Women's Initiatives
11:45 am	Oshkaatisak Council Presentation	Oshkaatisak Council
12:00 pm	Lunch Break	
1:00 pm	Wawatay Presentation – In Camera	Wawatay Board BDO
2:00 pm	NAPS/OPP Communication Centre	Chief of Police Roland Morrison
2:45 pm	NAPS/Navajo Presentation	Chief of Police Roland Morrison
3:00 pm	Honouring Ceremony – 50 th Anniversary	DGC Achneepineskum
3:15 pm	Ka-Na-Chi-Hih Presentation Proposed by-law changes *Resolution Required	Angela Carter, Ka-Na-Chi-Hih Ignace Gull, Ka-Na-Chi-Hih
3:15 pm 3:45 pm	Proposed by-law changes	-
	Proposed by-law changes *Resolution Required	Ignace Gull, Ka-Na-Chi-Hih DGC Achneepineskum Jennifer Guerrieri, NAN

Resolution Deadline 2:30 p.m.



Day 3: August 17, 2023 9:00 am - 5:00 pm EST

8:00 am	Registration Open for Chiefs & Delegates	
9:00 am	Drum Opening Prayer	
9:15 am	Call to Order by Chairpersons Summary of Day 2	Co-Chair
9:30 am	Remoteness Quotient/National Assembly of Remote Communities Update	DGC Narcisse
10:30 am	Break	
10:45 am	Moses Beaver Inquest *Resolution Required	DGC Achneepineskum
11:15 am	Resolutions	
12:00 pm	Lunch Break	
1:00 pm	Chiefs Open Forum	
3:00 pm	Break	
3:15 pm	Chiefs Open Forum	
4:00 pm	Closing Remarks Closing Prayer Drum	

