Seven Youth Inquest Jury Recommendations

Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) and other parties have released their Year 4 progress reports on jury recommendations on the fourth anniversary of the conclusion of the joint inquest into the deaths of seven NAN youth in Thunder Bay.

The Seven Youth Inquest examined the deaths of Jethro Anderson (2000), Curran Strang (2005), Paul Panacheese (2006), Robyn Harper (2007), Reggie Bushie (2007), Kyle Morrisseau (2009) and Jordan Wabasse (2011). All seven died while attending high school in Thunder Bay, far away from their families and home First Nation communities.

After hearing from 146 witnesses with 185 exhibits during eight months of proceedings, the jury delivered 145 recommendations on June 28, 2016, directed at improving accountability, safety and education outcomes for all NAN students. NAN immediately called for a process for their immediate implementation, and has participated through a Political Table and an Education Table.

Progress Reports

Nishnawbe Aski Nation

MLC Learning Centre

Keeywayinook Okimakank

Government of Ontario

Government of Canada

Thunder Bay Police Service

Northern Nishnawbe Education Council (NNEC) & Dennis Franklin Cromarty High School (DFC)

City of Thunder Bay

Looking for updates? Subscribe and we'll keep you posted
I'm interested in:
Invalid email address