Notice: Undefined variable: events_page in /srv/NAN-website-wordpress/src/web/app/themes/sassquatch/page-events.php on line 9

Event Calendar

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

40th Keewaywin Conference

August 9, 2022 @ 12:00 pm August 11, 2022 @ 9:00 pm

Please be advised that the 40th Annual Keewaywin Conference has been confirmed for August 9, 10, & 11, 2022.  This hybrid conference will take place at Northern College – Timmins (Porcupine) Campus, with the host community being Mattagami First Nation.

The Keewaywin Awards Banquet will take place the evening of Wednesday August 10th, 2022 at the Ramada Inn.  Nomination forms can be located on the website www.nan.ca

CONFIRMATIONS/REGISTRATION Registration is now open Chiefs/Proxies are asked to complete a registration form to confirm his/her attendance


PROXIES
If you are unable to attend, a proxy may be sent. Proxy notice must be sent in advance on letterhead and signed by the Chief and Council or a quorum of the Council. This letter will ensure that the proxy has full conference privileges to act on your behalf. The designated proxy should bring the original letter to the meeting. A sample proxy letter is attached.
Please send proxy letters to the attention of Miranda Echum via email mechum@nan.ca or by fax (807)-623-7730.

ACCOMMODATIONS
Accommodations for Chiefs/Proxies, Elders, Women & Youth Councils, and guests of NAN will be booked by NAN Staff.

NAN ELDERS, WOMENS AND YOUTH COUNCILS
The NAN Elders Council, Women’s Council and the Oshkaatisak (Young Peoples) Council are invited to attend.  NAN will cover their travel expenses and accommodations.  NAN staff will contact Elders, Women and Oshkaatisak members directly to register and make arrangement.

First Nation Tribal Councils bringing additional Elders are responsible for all expenses incurred including travel, accommodations and honorarium.

Elders Council registration contact is Grace Winter, she can be reached by email gwinter@nan.ca or by phone at 1 (800)465-9952.

Womens Council registration contact is Loretta Sheshequin, she can be reached by email lsheshequin@nan.ca or by phone at 1 (800) 465-9952.

Oshkaatisak Council’s registration contact is Joseph Carew, he can be reached by email  jcarew@nan.ca or by phone at 1 (800) 465-9952.


RESOLUTIONS-DEADLINE: FRIDAY July 22, 2022
Resolutions to be considered at the Assembly can be forwarded electronically to Luke Hunter at lhunter@nan.on.ca or via fax at (807)623-7730.


OPEN CALL TO CHIEFS FOR AGENDA ITEMS – DEADLINE: FRIDAY July 29, 2022.


If there are any priority issues or items that you wish to discuss at the NAN Chiefs Spring Assembly, please contact Melinda Meekis by email mmeekis@nan.on.ca or by phone at (807)-708-3173/ 1-(800)-465-9952. Open call for agenda items is for Chiefs only.


If you require any additional information or require clarification, please contact Charlene Yerxa by email cyerxa@nan.on.ca or phone at (807)-625-4914 /1-(800)-465-9952.