Event Calendar

Loading Events

« All Events

NAN Chiefs Winter Assembly

January 17 @ 1:00 pm January 19 @ 10:00 pm

Please be advised that the NAN Chiefs Winter Assembly has been confirmed for January 17, 18, & 19, 2023.  This hybrid conference will take place at the Valhalla Inn, Thunder Bay, ON.

CONFIRMATIONS/REGISTRATION Registration is now open Chiefs/Proxies are asked to complete a registration form to confirm his/her attendance

PROXIES

If you are unable to attend, a proxy may be sent.  Proxy notice must be sent in advance on your first nation letterhead and signed by the Chief and Council or a quorum of the Council.  This letter will ensure that the proxy has full conference privileges to act on your behalf.  The designated proxy should bring the original letter to the meeting.  A sample proxy letter is attached.

Please send proxy letters to the attention of Grace Winter via email gwinter@nan.ca or by fax (807)623-7730.

TRAVEL ARRANGEMENTS

Travel will be covered for Chiefs/Proxies. Travel days are Monday January 16, 2023 and Friday January 20, 2023.  Air travel will be booked by NAN staff or for the use of a personal vehicle; mileage will be covered and based on the NAN rate.  As required by NAN Chiefs Finance Committee, the most economical arrangements will be made to keep the overall costs to a minimum.

ACCOMMODATIONS

Accommodations for the Chiefs/Proxies, Elders, Women & Youth Councils, and guest of NAN will be booked by NAN Staff.

NAN ELDERS COUNCIL, NAN WOMEN COUNCIL AND OSHKAATISAK COUNCIL

The NAN Elders Council, Women’s Council and the Oshkaatisak (Young Peoples) Council are invited to attend.  NAN will cover their travel expenses and accommodations.  NAN staff will contact Elders, Women and Oshkaatisak members directly to register and make arrangement.

First Nation Tribal Councils bringing additional Elders are responsible for all expenses incurred including travel, accommodations and honorarium.

Elders Council registration contact is Kelsie Demontigny, she can be reached by email kdemontigny@nan.ca  or by phone at 1 (800)465-9952.

Womens Council registration contact is Loretta Sheshequin, she can be reached by email lsheshequin@nan.ca or by phone at 1 (800) 465-9952.

Oshkaatisak Council’s registration contact is Joseph Carew, she can be reached by email  jcarew@nan.ca or by phone at 1 (800) 465-9952.

RESOLUTIONS – DEADLINE:  FRIDAY January 6, 2023

Resolutions to be considered at the NAN Chiefs Winter Assembly can be forwarded electronically to Luke Hunter at lhunter@nan.ca or via fax at (807) 623-7730.

OPEN CALL TO CHIEFS FOR AGENDA ITEMS – DEADLINE:  FRIDAY January 6, 2023

If there are any priority issues or items that you wish to discuss at the NAN Chiefs Winter Assembly, please contact Melinda Meekis by email mmeekis@nan.ca or by phone at (807) 708-3173 / 1 (800) 465-9952.  Open call for agenda items is for Chiefs only.

If you require any additional information or require clarification, please contact Charlene Yerxa by email cyerxa@nan.ca or phone at (807) 621-6175 / 1(800) 465-9952.

Looking for updates? Subscribe and we'll keep you posted
I'm interested in:
Invalid email address