NAN Congratulates Indigenous Leaders among new Appointees to the Order of Canada

THUNDER BAY, ON: Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Grand Chief Derek Fox, on behalf of the Executive Council, congratulates Indigenous leaders including Murray Sinclair and Ovide Mercredi who are among 135 distinguished Canadians named to the Order of Canada by the Governor General this week.

“As Chair of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission, Murray Sinclair has forced Canadians to acknowledge this country’s injustices towards Indigenous people while holding the Government of Canada accountable. His leadership of the TRC ensured that thousands of Indian Residential School Survivors received the justice they deserve, and we are forever grateful,” said Grand Chief Derek Fox. “Ovide Mercredi has dedicated his career to the pursuit of justice and self-determination and continues to be a strong advocate for Indigenous rights. We are honoured to be working closely with him as special advisor to our Health Transformation process.”

Sinclair, chair of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC), was named as a Companion, the Order’s highest level, for his commitment to the representation of Indigenous legal issues and his dedication to reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Peoples. He retired from the Senate of Canada in January 2021.

Mercredi, former National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations, was named Officer of the Order of Canada for his advocacy for Indigenous rights and reconciliation. He has dedicated his career to justice and self-determination and played key roles in the Meech Lake Accord constitutional reform discussions, the resolution of the Oka Crisis, and the Charlottetown Accord.

NAN also acknowledges Victoria Grant, of Teme-Augama Anishnabai (Temagami First Nation), who was also appointed as Officer for her work bridging the gap between Indigenous and non-Indigenous culture, business and communities through facilitation and mediation.

More information:

For more information please contact:
Michael Heintzman,
Director of Communications
Cell: (807) 621-2790