NAN Oshkaatisak Council Congratulates National Chief Archibald, Celebrates Women in Leadership

THUNDER BAY, ON: The Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN) Oshkaatisak (All Young People’s) Council is proud to welcome RoseAnne Archibald, of Taykwa Tagamou Nation, as their newly elected National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations and congratulates her for becoming the first woman National Chief, as well as the first National Chief from Treaty No. 9 territory.

“We are thrilled to welcome RoseAnne Archibald as our National Chief and are excited to see the vision and positive changes that she will bring to the Assembly of First Nations. Seeing our Indigenous women taking on leadership roles makes my heart fill with hope,” said Mallory Solomon, of Constance Lake First Nation. “As a young two-spirited person, it gives me hope that our world is currently changing and providing more opportunities for women to be accepted and supported in their rightful roles as leaders.”

“Before colonization we had women as Chiefs, but that changed after colonizers came to Turtle Island. It may have taken awhile but I am seeing positive changes at the national level as well as in my own community. In Constance Lake First Nation we have recently elected Ramona Sutherland as our first woman Chief. Her goals are very similar to National Chief’s goals, and I am excited to see their visions become action over the coming years,” said Solomon.

Members of the Oshkaatisak Council are happy to see a woman in leadership at the federal level and are confident that new, important perspectives will be brought forward by National Chief Archibald.

The Council looks forward to the implementation of National Chief’s election platform, especially next steps regarding her commitment to fully engage women, youth and 2SLGBTQQIA+ Peoples through empowerment, capacity building, and leadership development.

For more information please contact:
Michael Heintzman,
Director of Communications
Cell: (807) 621-2790